Fortior

Nutrition

Micronutrients: tracking vitamins and minerals in the foods you log

Fortior records 26 vitamins and minerals for the foods you log, in milligrams and micrograms, wherever a label or food database reports them. Anything a source does not report stays blank rather than being counted as zero.

Updated October 24, 2026

What micronutrients are

Micronutrients are the vitamins and minerals in food. The body uses them in small amounts, so they are measured in milligrams (mg) and micrograms (mcg) rather than the grams used for protein, carbohydrate and fat. One milligram is 1,000 micrograms.

Labels and databases follow a few conventions. Vitamin A is usually given in mcg of retinol activity equivalents (RAE), folate in mcg of dietary folate equivalents (DFE), and vitamin E in mg of alpha-tocopherol equivalents. Some older labels use international units (IU), which convert differently for each vitamin and form.

Track micronutrients: which vitamins and minerals Fortior records

Fortior can store 26 vitamins and minerals for each food or meal you log. Sodium and caffeine are tracked separately, in mg, alongside fiber.

GroupRecorded in mgRecorded in mcg
MineralsPotassium, magnesium, calcium, iron, zinc, phosphorus, copper, manganese, chlorideIodine, selenium, chromium, molybdenum
VitaminsVitamin C, vitamin E, thiamin (B1), riboflavin (B2), niacin (B3), vitamin B6, pantothenic acid (B5)Vitamin A, vitamin D, vitamin K, folate (B9), vitamin B12, biotin (B7)

Where the numbers come from

Fortior does not work vitamins and minerals out from your macros. It records what a source reports:

Values scale with the serving. Change the number of servings and each vitamin and mineral scales with it, so the amounts always match what you are about to log.

Blank means not reported, not zero

Many foods list only some micronutrients. When a source does not list one, Fortior leaves it blank. It never turns a blank into zero, and a vitamin or mineral that nothing reported simply does not appear in the list. The serving screen says so: "Any this food doesn't list are left blank."

A day's total adds only the values that were reported, and it shows how many logged items contributed, such as "From 2 logged items". Here is an illustrative example with made-up numbers:

Logged itemCalcium reported
Oatmeal150 mg
Yogurt200 mg
A food whose label lists no calciumNot reported
Day total shown350 mg, from 2 logged items

The third food may well contain some calcium. The total only reflects what the data reported, so read it as "the reported amount", not as everything you ate.

Reading micronutrient totals sensibly

What Fortior does not do with them

Fortior shows amounts. It does not set vitamin or mineral targets, show a percent of a reference value, or tell you that a number is too low or too high. Needs differ from person to person, and food labels and databases are themselves averages. A registered dietitian or doctor is the right person to interpret what your numbers mean for you.

With the AI connector, you can also ask an AI tool for the micronutrients in the foods you logged, or export them all.

In the app: on the Nutrition tab, open Details, then More nutrition details, then Vitamins and minerals for the day's totals. For one food, open its serving screen or meal and look for Vitamins and minerals.

Nutrition information here is educational and based on the food you log. It is not medical advice, and Fortior does not diagnose conditions or prescribe medical diets.